← City reports · IA

2026 · city & agency research

Clear Lake, IA

Crime statistics reported by CLEAR LAKE POLICE DEPT.

Preliminary reported countsSource snapshot Sep 15, 2026
Know what these figures cover.

These are the reporting agency’s records, not a guaranteed total for the whole city, a ZIP Code, or a radius around a home. Month completeness and agency jurisdiction have not been independently verified. Missing or unverified reports are not zero crime. This is not a safety rating.

Year overview

2026 overview

View the available months below. This snapshot does not establish full-year coverage.

Return A · monthly summary

Every month. Including the gaps.

8 months have usable source counts. This does not establish full-month or full-year coverage.

2026 periodSource statusMurderRapeRobberyAggravated assaultBurglaryLarceny-theftMotor vehicle theft
JanuaryReported · preliminary0000140
FebruaryReported · preliminary0000160
MarchReported · preliminary0000060
AprilReported · preliminary00021180
MayReported · preliminary0111041
JuneReported · preliminary01010110
JulyReported · preliminary0000181
AugustReported · preliminary0002042
SeptemberUnavailable———————
OctoberUnavailable———————
NovemberUnavailable———————
DecemberUnavailable———————

NIBRS · incident-based reporting record

Months represented in the extract

Separate from Return A: these incident and offense records must not be added to the table above. Missing rows are not zero crime.

2026 periodSource statusIncident recordsOffense recordsAttemptsResidence / home
JanuaryObserved records2939110
FebruaryObserved records1921011
MarchObserved records283407
AprilObserved records5154022
MayObserved records232608
JuneObserved records3242014
JulyObserved records3639014
AugustObserved records2733113
SeptemberNot represented————
OctoberNot represented————
NovemberNot represented————
DecemberNot represented————

A submission flag does not prove a complete month. September is a partial snapshot. Source snapshot September 15, 2026.

NIBRS · incident-based detail

A closer look at the records

2026 records in this snapshot · source snapshot September 15, 2026.

This is a separate incident-based source, not an addition to the Return A figures. Counts describe Group A incident and offense records represented in this extract, not victim-counted offense totals, all city crime, or a safety rating. Reporting completeness is unverified.

Group A incident records

245Distinct administrative records with usable offense segments.

Offense records

288Completed and attempted offense segments. One incident can have several.

Attempted offense records

2Recorded attempts, included in the offense-record count.

Residence / home records

99Offense segments with a residence/home location type, not mapped addresses.

Attempts are already included in offense records, not additional crimes. 8 months contain usable records. These are observed records, not a complete annual total. September is a partial snapshot. These core counts, offense categories, locations and time-of-day figures exclude Group B arrest records and unfounded offense segments.

Recorded offense categories Offense records, not victim counts

Simple assault47

Intimidation23

Burglary / breaking and entering4

Shoplifting5

Theft from a building46

Counterfeiting / forgery7

False pretenses / swindle9

Welfare fraud3

Drug / narcotic violations37

Drug equipment violations39

Arson1

Pocket-picking3

Other larceny3

Credit card / ATM fraud3

Property destruction / damage / vandalism28

Identity theft4

Criminal sexual contact (legacy fondling)1

Aggravated assault6

Theft from a motor vehicle4

Weapon law violations4

Animal cruelty2

Rape2

Robbery1

Motor vehicle theft4

Pornography / obscene material1

Stolen property offenses1

For crimes against persons, an offense segment is not the number of victims. Do not compare these segment counts directly with Return A totals.
Location types Offense records

Bank / savings and loan5

Bar / nightclub5

Convenience store7

Grocery / supermarket3

Highway / road / alley86

Hotel / motel8

Lake / waterway / beach3

Parking lot / garage6

Residence / home99

Restaurant3

Other / unknown10

Cyberspace9

Department / discount store5

Service / gas station4

Government / public building4

Liquor store2

Park / playground14

School: elementary / secondary4

Commercial / office building3

Specialty store5

Dock / wharf / freight terminal2

Field / woods1

Types of places recorded by the agency. No incident coordinates or ZIP allocations are provided.
Reported substances Drug-type entries

Crack cocaine Grams: 18.000 9

Cocaine (other) Grams: 4.000 4

Marijuana Dosage units / items: 15.000Grams: 522.573Not reported: Quantity unavailable · 1 unmeasured entries 97

Other narcotics Dosage units / items: 189.000 10

Other hallucinogens Not reported: Quantity unavailable · 9 unmeasured entries 9

Amphetamines / methamphetamines Grams: 14.400 16

Other drugs Dosage units / items: 4.000 4

Unknown type Dosage units / items: Quantity unavailable 2

Suspected drug types on source property records, up to three entries per record; not unique incidents or people. Quantities are estimates and stay separate by substance and measurement. These aggregates do not identify which types were seized. Unspecified field slots: 623 blank / not applicable.
Weapon / force types Offense-field entries

Firearm (unspecified)2

Handgun2

Knife / cutting instrument3

Motor vehicle1

Personal weapons: hands / feet45

Poison1

Other weapon / force4

None / unarmed4

Types of weapon or force recorded on offense segments, up to three entries per segment; not unique weapons or incidents. This expanded distribution may include unfounded segments and is not directly comparable with the core counts above. Unspecified field slots: 802 blank / not applicable.
Time of day Incident records

00:00–05:5948

06:00–11:5932

12:00–17:59101

18:00–23:5964

Unknown / not supplied0

Source incident hour, where supplied. A report-date substitute may be used for the date.

Source: U.S. law-enforcement reports · NIBRS 2026 dataset. Snapshot September 15, 2026. Full agency identity is retained internally; geographic jurisdiction remains unverified. Original records are preserved privately, not exposed in page HTML.

Source & interpretation

What’s behind the numbers

Snapshot
September 15, 2026 · imported October 4, 2026
Measurement
Monthly actual-offense counts reported by this agency. Not national estimates, arrests or geocoded incidents.

Aggravated assault is calculated as source assault total minus simple assault. Rape uses the source category; historical definitions require care. We do not annualize incomplete periods, generate crime rates from ZIP populations, or rank addresses by safety.

Explore nearby areas

More crime reports near Clear Lake

Explore city and agency reports linked to neighboring ZIP areas. Only reports with available data are shown.

Suggested from postal/locality names and ZIP areas that touch or lie within one mile of a linked ZIP boundary. This is not crime within a one-mile radius; each report covers its reporting agency, whose jurisdiction has not been independently verified. Postal matching adapted from GeoNames · CC BY 4.0.

Explore an address

Address reports in Clear Lake

Explore what’s around these addresses, each on a different street.