← City reports · IA

2026 · city & agency research

Mason City, IA

Crime statistics reported by MASON CITY POLICE DEPARTMENT.

Preliminary reported countsSource snapshot Sep 15, 2026
Know what these figures cover.

These are the reporting agency’s records, not a guaranteed total for the whole city, a ZIP Code, or a radius around a home. Month completeness and agency jurisdiction have not been independently verified. Missing or unverified reports are not zero crime. This is not a safety rating.

Year overview

2026 overview

View the available months below. This snapshot does not establish full-year coverage.

Return A · monthly summary

Every month. Including the gaps.

7 months have usable source counts. This does not establish full-month or full-year coverage.

2026 periodSource statusMurderRapeRobberyAggravated assaultBurglaryLarceny-theftMotor vehicle theft
JanuaryReported · preliminary02138384
FebruaryReported · preliminary03027251
MarchReported · preliminary011310443
AprilReported · preliminary05039360
MayReported · preliminary01247300
JuneReported · preliminary10162314
JulyReported · preliminary00048350
AugustUnavailable———————
SeptemberUnavailable———————
OctoberUnavailable———————
NovemberUnavailable———————
DecemberUnavailable———————

NIBRS · incident-based reporting record

Months represented in the extract

Separate from Return A: these incident and offense records must not be added to the table above. Missing rows are not zero crime.

2026 periodSource statusIncident recordsOffense recordsAttemptsResidence / home
JanuaryObserved records107121551
FebruaryObserved records105115350
MarchObserved records125134755
AprilObserved records126139450
MayObserved records97106337
JuneObserved records113124244
JulyObserved records108125350
AugustNot represented————
SeptemberNot represented————
OctoberNot represented————
NovemberNot represented————
DecemberNot represented————

A submission flag does not prove a complete month. September is a partial snapshot. Source snapshot September 15, 2026.

NIBRS · incident-based detail

A closer look at the records

2026 records in this snapshot · source snapshot September 15, 2026.

This is a separate incident-based source, not an addition to the Return A figures. Counts describe Group A incident and offense records represented in this extract, not victim-counted offense totals, all city crime, or a safety rating. Reporting completeness is unverified.

Group A incident records

781Distinct administrative records with usable offense segments.

Offense records

864Completed and attempted offense segments. One incident can have several.

Attempted offense records

27Recorded attempts, included in the offense-record count.

Residence / home records

337Offense segments with a residence/home location type, not mapped addresses.

Attempts are already included in offense records, not additional crimes. 7 months contain usable records. These are observed records, not a complete annual total. September is a partial snapshot. These core counts, offense categories, locations and time-of-day figures exclude Group B arrest records and unfounded offense segments.

Recorded offense categories Offense records, not victim counts

Negligent manslaughter1

Rape12

Criminal sexual contact (legacy fondling)3

Robbery5

Aggravated assault23

Simple assault124

Intimidation43

Burglary / breaking and entering50

Shoplifting106

Theft from a building57

Theft from a motor vehicle29

Theft of motor vehicle parts6

Other larceny47

Motor vehicle theft12

Counterfeiting / forgery4

False pretenses / swindle52

Credit card / ATM fraud7

Property destruction / damage / vandalism135

Drug / narcotic violations60

Drug equipment violations45

Pornography / obscene material2

Weapon law violations18

Extortion / blackmail3

Pocket-picking1

Purse-snatching1

Wire fraud1

Stolen property offenses3

Identity theft7

Murder / nonnegligent manslaughter1

Kidnapping / abduction4

Animal cruelty1

Impersonation1

For crimes against persons, an offense segment is not the number of victims. Do not compare these segment counts directly with Return A totals.
Location types Offense records

Air / bus / train terminal1

Bar / nightclub8

Commercial / office building5

Convenience store22

Department / discount store89

Government / public building10

Grocery / supermarket25

Highway / road / alley122

Hotel / motel5

Parking lot / garage44

Rental storage facility17

Residence / home337

Restaurant4

Specialty store27

Other / unknown28

Shelter / mission / homeless5

Cyberspace27

Bank / savings and loan5

Church / synagogue / temple4

Drug store / doctor’s office / hospital14

Service / gas station7

Arena / stadium / fairgrounds1

School: elementary / secondary17

Shopping mall4

Liquor store4

Industrial site3

Auto dealership3

Park / playground14

School: college / university6

Construction site1

Camp / campground2

Jail / prison3

Types of places recorded by the agency. No incident coordinates or ZIP allocations are provided.
Reported substances Drug-type entries

Crack cocaine Not reported: Quantity unavailable · 1 unmeasured entries 1

Cocaine (other) Grams: 7.920 3

Marijuana Dosage units / items: 17.000Fluid ounces: 1.000Grams: 306.740Pounds: 4.800Not reported: Quantity unavailable · 10 unmeasured entries 67

Other narcotics Grams: 20.000 1

Amphetamines / methamphetamines Dosage units / items: 2.000Grams: 236.380 75

Barbiturates Grams: 0.500 1

Other drugs Dosage units / items: 1.000 1

Unknown type Not reported: Quantity unavailable · 2 unmeasured entries 2

Suspected drug types on source property records, up to three entries per record; not unique incidents or people. Quantities are estimates and stay separate by substance and measurement. These aggregates do not identify which types were seized. Unspecified field slots: 2,309 blank / not applicable.
Weapon / force types Offense-field entries

Firearm (unspecified)1

Handgun10

Knife / cutting instrument2

Blunt object4

Motor vehicle2

Personal weapons: hands / feet135

Fire / incendiary device1

Drugs / narcotics / sleeping pills1

Asphyxiation2

Other weapon / force12

Unknown weapon1

None / unarmed31

Types of weapon or force recorded on offense segments, up to three entries per segment; not unique weapons or incidents. This expanded distribution may include unfounded segments and is not directly comparable with the core counts above. Unspecified field slots: 2,390 blank / not applicable.
Time of day Incident records

00:00–05:5988

06:00–11:59204

12:00–17:59322

18:00–23:59167

Unknown / not supplied0

Source incident hour, where supplied. A report-date substitute may be used for the date.

Source: U.S. law-enforcement reports · NIBRS 2026 dataset. Snapshot September 15, 2026. Full agency identity is retained internally; geographic jurisdiction remains unverified. Original records are preserved privately, not exposed in page HTML.

Source & interpretation

What’s behind the numbers

Snapshot
September 15, 2026 · imported October 4, 2026
Measurement
Monthly actual-offense counts reported by this agency. Not national estimates, arrests or geocoded incidents.

Aggravated assault is calculated as source assault total minus simple assault. Rape uses the source category; historical definitions require care. We do not annualize incomplete periods, generate crime rates from ZIP populations, or rank addresses by safety.

Explore nearby areas

More crime reports near Mason City

Explore city and agency reports linked to neighboring ZIP areas. Only reports with available data are shown.

Suggested from postal/locality names and ZIP areas that touch or lie within one mile of a linked ZIP boundary. This is not crime within a one-mile radius; each report covers its reporting agency, whose jurisdiction has not been independently verified. Postal matching adapted from GeoNames · CC BY 4.0.

Explore an address

Address reports in Mason City

Explore what’s around these addresses, each on a different street.